Sweet Stephee T's

New recipes…coming soon!

Posted on: October 10, 2011

I’ve received a recipe suggestion from a friend.  I’m going to try it in the next couple of days.  As soon as I do I will post it.  I have to admit, I’ve always avoided recipes with this name.  It’s a Shepherd’s Pie recipe.  I think I was scared away from one once when I saw lamb on the ingredient list.  I must confess, I do not use lamb.  Or veal.  My family doesn’t eat seafood either, so I can’t cook it.  I personally enjoy some types of seafood, but have no idea how to cook anything since my mother refused to prepare it because she didn’t like it, and my husband refuses to eat it, so I have no reason to cook it.

Ahh, I miss out on so much I think I would enjoy if I could.  My husband isn’t much of a veggie eater either.  I’m working on my kids.  I make them try at least a bite of a new food and make sure they haven’t discovered a new taste bud or something.  Two weeks ago after about 15 minutes of fussing, I managed to get the both to eat one diced piece each of a yellow squash and zucchini that had been steamed in foil packets on the grill.  Yesterday they asked me when they were going to get to eat the buttery green vegetable again.  (I didn’t butter it, they’re just learning to TASTE.)  I’m trying to unteach them bad habits my family has bestowed upon them.  When they were tots, my mother would let them dip their fingers into sugar packets at restaurants while waiting for our food.  Thankfully, I was able to nip that in the bud.  They picked up a bad habit of salting everything from her though.  I’ve even seen her salt salads.  BEFORE she even tastes them.  Bad, bad, bad.

My bad habit is A-1 steak sauce.  I like to pour it over potato chips.  And grilled cheese.  And steak.  And burgers.  I’m in a 12 step program.  My husband swears I’ve drunk it from the bottle, but I think he’s exaggerating.  But then again, anything was possibly with my pregnancies.  I once ate a sauerkraut sandwich with hot sauce and jalapeno potato chips.  I like spicy and salty stuff, what can I say?

Anyway, this is a rambly type of post today.  Some of my recipe are going to be detailed as I try to expand my cooking skills.  These will be the ones where I get to have fun and try to do something that makes ME happy.  Some of my recipes are going to be quick and easy and plain.  These are the ones that make my kids and husband happy.  Don’t get me wrong, I like some of the stuff I make for them.  I’m just really, really bored with fried chicken fingers and macaroni.  Plain tacos aren’t doing it for me.  I want to step it up and try to make things more personable and homemade, and maybe teach the girls a little along the way.  Just ripping open a box of Velveeta or a Taco Bell taco kit just doesn’t scream “Mom loves you” to me.  It’s easier, and less expensive of course, but when I can I’d like to do some things from scratch.  Just making that salsa with the 2 of them was so much fun.  They loved it!  Not only making it, but eating it.  It was a good time, a learning experience, and it just tasted better than the stuff in the jar.  Who wouldn’t want all of that?

 

Stephee

Speak your mind!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

