Sweet Stephee T's

Basic Salsa Recipe (EASY)

Posted on: September 30, 2011

This is a modified Tupperware recipe.  I LOVE TUPPERWARE!  A Quick Chef makes this recipe so fun and so easy.  Plus you don’t have to drag out that heavy food processor and all of its blades and pieces.  If you want to know more about the product, ask me.  I sell this stuff on the side just because it’s great stuff.  Not only do you make the salsa with it, you pull out the blade, pop on the airtight seal, and it’s ready to refrigerate.  They also have a seasoning blend I use in this recipe, but you can pick up your preferred blend at any grocery chain.

  • 1 large can diced tomatoes
  • 1 medium sweet onion
  • 1 Tbsp Southwest Seasoning
  • 2 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 1-2 Tbsp lime juice
Peel and chop onion.  (If using QC, just quarter the onion and toss it in and spin a few times.)  Drain tomatoes.  Dump all ingredients into food processor and blend.  (If using QC just give it a few whirls.)  Do a taste test and see how you like the flavor.  You can dabble from here.  I know a few people who like to add sugar or other peppers or even hotter onions.  But this is just a basic starter recipe to get you going.  My kids like it because it’s simple and doesn’t seem too healthy.  Plus they get to use the Quick Chef.

Later this week I am going to give a roasted salsa recipe a shot.  I will take pictures along the way and share my journey.  I have all the fancy fruits in there (yes, peppers are fruits) as well as the fresh herbs.  I’ve always been one to use the dried herbs in a bottle.  I actually have living herbs I am about to transplant and hope to have sprouting in my kitchen for years to come.  I’m starting slow, I only have cilantro and mint.  Keep your fingers crossed for me!!

Stephee

 

—NOTE: If you don’t have a food processor or a Quick Chef, you can put a small amount of everything into a blender.  After blending everything, transfer to a large container and mix very well.  If you can do it with your hands, that would be the best approach to ensure everything spreads out evenly.—
Speak your mind!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

